Bell on main quad
News and Announcements

New Jersey Nursing Program Nominated for National AACN/Benchworks Assessment and Impact Award

Posted in: Homepage Announcements

Sign for Frances M. McLaughlin Division of Nursing.

The Frances M. McLaughlin Division of Nursing at Bloomfield College of Montclair State University is one of 15 nursing programs nationwide nominated for the prestigious AACN/Benchworks Assessment and Impact Awards in Nursing, an annual award created to highlight schools of nursing that are successfully using data to improve their programs, retain students and develop more practice-ready nursing professionals.

Performance factors identified through the research-based benchmarking and assessment study highlighted the Bloomfield College nursing program as having one of the highest nursing student exit assessment scores, nationally, in overall student learning and student satisfaction.

Later this summer, three nursing programs out of the 15 nominees will be granted the final AACN/Benchworks Assessment and Impact Award in Nursing.

“We are thrilled to receive this noteworthy recognition of our nursing programs,” said Professor of Nursing, and Research and Evaluation Committee Chairperson, Ismat F. Mikky, PhD, MSN, BSN, RN. “Our expert nursing faculty study the data and ensure we are consistently updating our curriculum to meet the growing demands our graduates will experience across the multitude of patient-centered healthcare settings.”

A partnership between the Association of American Colleges of Nursing (AACN) and Benchworks by Elentra (formerly Skyfactor Benchworks), the benchmarking assessments are designed to identify areas of improvement for maximum impact on program success by empowering nursing administrators to better understand the program components that most significantly impact nursing student outcomes.

In 2019, the Bloomfield College nursing program was recognized with one of the top three awards nationwide as part of the inaugural launch of this national nursing assessment and impact award.